Gaede Stiftung
Gaede Stiftung

ÜBER GAEDE

Wolfgang Max Paul Gaede (* 25. Mai 1878 in Lehe; † 24. Juni 1945 in München) was a physicist and a pioneer of vacuum technology.

Biography

Gaede, son of a Prussian colonel, took up medical studies at the University of Freiburg im Breisgau in 1897, but soon he changed over to the Department of Physics, where he received his doctorate in 1901 with the topic "On the Change of the specific Heat of Metals with Temperature". Subsequent research on the Volta effect in vacuum, however, was unsuccessful, since the vacuum to be achieved with the pump technology of these days was not sufficient for his investigations. This was the reason for Gaede to focus his research on vacuum technology. He invented the rotating high-vacuum mercury pump, which he introduced to his science colleagues in 1905 at a congress in Meran. In 1909 he wrote his habilitation thesis in Freiburg on "The external Friction of the Gases".

In 1913 Gaede received a professorship at the University of Freiburg. Over the next six years, he invented the molecular pump and a mercury diffusion pump. In 1919 he moved to the Technical University of Karlsruhe as a professor of experimental physics, where he worked in the following research areas:


    • vacuum technology

    • radio broadcasting technologies

    • processes for the production of pure hydrogen and mercury

    • lightning protection equipment

    • movement of liquids in a rotating hollow ring

In 1933/34 Gaede was denounced by two employees to the Gestapo (Geheime Staatspolizei) for having described the National Socialists as "child heads". He then had to retire, although all allegations proved void. Despite this incident, he was awarded the Werner von Siemens Ring in 1934. He also received various international awards in the following years.

A consulting contract with the company E. Leybold's Successors in Cologne, which existed from 1906 until his death, enabled him to continue his research in his private laboratory - first in Karlsruhe, later in Munich. Among other things, he developed the gas ballast equipment for vacuum pumps to convey condensable vapours continuously.

Gaede was the owner of almost 40 patents in Germany, in addition to numerous ones abroad. The call to return to the University in Karlsruhe after the end of the second world war, did not reach Gaede anymore.

Every year, the GAEDE Foundation awards a prize for outstanding research achievements in the field of vacuum-assisted sciences to young scientists. The Gaede archive which is connected to the foundation manages his heritage. It is located at the headquarters of Leybold GmbH in Cologne, which emerged from E. Leybold's Successors. The Gaede archive is accessible to everyone.

Honors

    • The Elliot Cresson Gold Medal of the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia

    • The Duddell Medal of the Physical Society of London.

    • A lecture hall of the Karlsruhe University was named after him in 1969

    • The Wolfgang-Gaede-Strasse on the university campus in Karlsruhe was named after him in 1993.

    • The GAEDE Foundation bears his name.

Source: Wikipedia

Gaede Preis 2018 | Impressum und Datenschutz

Gaede Stiftung
Gaede Stiftung

ÜBER GAEDE

Wolfgang Max Paul Gaede (* 25. Mai 1878 in Lehe; † 24. Juni 1945 in München) war Physiker und ein Pionier der Vakuumtechnik.

Biografie

Gaede, Sohn eines preußischen Oberst, begann 1897 an der Universität Freiburg im Breisgau ein Studium der Medizin, wechselte jedoch bald in den Fachbereich der Physik, wo er 1901 mit dem Thema „Über die Änderung der spezifischen Wärme der Metalle mit der Temperatur“ promovierte. Anschließende Forschungen über den Voltaeffekt im Vakuum blieben jedoch erfolglos, da das mit der damaligen Pumpentechnik zu erreichende Vakuum für seine Untersuchungen nicht ausreichte. Dies war der Anlass für Gaede, sich näher mit der Vakuumtechnik zu befassen. Er erfand die rotierende Quecksilberpumpe für Hochvakuum, welche er seinen Wissenschaftskollegen 1905 auf einem Kongress in Meran vorstellte. 1909 verfasste er in Freiburg seine Habilitationsschrift über „Die äußere Reibung der Gase“.

1913 erhielt Gaede an der Freiburger Universität eine Professorenstelle. In den folgenden sechs Jahren erfand er dort die Molekularpumpe und eine Quecksilber-Diffusionspumpe. 1919 wechselte er als Professor für Experimentalphysik an die Technischen Hochschule Karlsruhe, wo er auf folgenden Forschungsgebieten tätig war:

  • Vakuumtechnik
  • Funk- und Nachrichtentechnik
  • Verfahren zur Gewinnung von reinem Wasserstoff und Quecksilber
  • Erforschung von Blitzschutzeinrichtungen
  • Bewegung von Flüssigkeiten in einem rotierenden Hohlring

1933/34 wurde Gaede von zwei Mitarbeitern bei der Gestapo denunziert, die Nationalsozialisten als „Kindsköpfe“ bezeichnet zu haben. Er musste daraufhin in den Ruhestand gehen, obwohl sich alle Vorwürfe als nichtig erwiesen. Trotz dieses Zwischenfalls wurde ihm der Werner-von-Siemens-Ring von 1933 verliehen. Auch auf internationaler Ebene erhielt er in den folgenden Jahren verschiedene Auszeichnungen.

Ein Beratervertrag mit der Firma E. Leybold's Nachfolger in Köln, der seit 1906 bis zu seinem Tod bestand, ermöglichte es ihm, in seinem Privatlabor weiter zu forschen - zunächst in Karlsruhe, später in München. Unter anderem erfand er das Gasballast-Prinzip.

Gaede war Inhaber von fast 40 Patenten in Deutschland, neben zahlreichen im Ausland. Der Ruf, nach Kriegsende an die Universität in Karlsruhe zurückzukehren, erreichte Gaede nicht mehr.

Die GAEDE-Stiftung verleiht jährlich einen dotierten Preis für eine Arbeit auf dem Gebiet der vakuumgestützten Wissenschaften an junge Nachwuchswissenschaftler. Das der Stiftung angeschlossene Gaede-Archiv verwaltet seinen Nachlass. Es befindet sich am Firmensitz der aus E. Leybold's Nachfolger hervorgegangenen Leybold GmbH in Köln in Köln. Das Gaede-Archiv ist - nach Anmeldung - für jedermann zugänglich.

Ehrungen

  • Die Goldene Elliot-Cresson-Medaille des Franklin Institute in Philadelphia
  • Die Duddel-Medaille der Physical Society of London.
  • Zum Gedenken an Wolfgang Gaede wurde 1969 ein Hörsaal der Karlsruher Universität nach ihm benannt.
  • Die Wolfgang-Gaede-Straße auf dem Universitätsgelände in Karlsruhe wurde 1993 nach ihm benannt.
  • Die GAEDE-Stiftung trägt seinen Namen.

Quelle: Wikipedia

Gaede Preis 2017 | Impressum und Datenschutz